Marcia Griffiths – Essential Artist Collection

2LP - release: 02-06


Arguably the greatest female singer in the history of Jamaican music, Marcia Griffiths first made her mark on the Jamaican music scene with a number of popular singles during the late Sixties, before finding international fame in 1970 alongside her long-term friend and sometime collaborator, Bob Andy.

Bob & Marcia’s uplifting reggae version of Nina Simone’s inspiring song, ‘(To Be) Young, Gifted & Black’ hit number 5 in the UK pop chart, the single proving to be the first of two British chartbusters, with their exuberant interpretation of Pied Piper’ just missing out on a Top 10 placing the following year.

Soon after, Marcia became a member of Bob Marley’s famed backing group, the I-Threes, while also continuing to enjoy solo success with numerous Jamaican hits for a variety of record producers throughout the remainder of the Seventies and well beyond.

And it is the very best of her solo work that features on this ‘Essential Artist’ compilation, the latest release in Trojan Records’ newly launched range that showcases the work of Jamaica’s best-loved ‘foundation’ artists.

Available as a 28-track double vinyl LP, this collection expertly demonstrates just why Marcia Griffiths is today widely regarded as a Jamaican legend.


Slechts 1 resterend op voorraad (kan nabesteld worden)



– 1 –
1. Hurtin’ Inside
2. We’ve Got To Get Ourselves Together
3. Peaceful Woman
4. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
5. Play Me
6. Steppin’ Out of Babylon
7. I See You, My Love
8. Sweet Brown Sugar
9. Put a Little Love In Your Heart
10. Survival (is the Game)
11. Pied Piper (With Bob Andy)
12. Feel Like Jumping
13. Tell Me Now
14. Your Love (With Bob Andy)
– 2 –
1. Dreamland (Aka My Dream Island)
2. Sweet Bitter Love
3. Melody Life
4. I Don’t Care (With Bob Andy)
5. Mark My Word
6. I Just Don’t Want To Be Lonely
7. Truly
8. To Be Young Gifted and Black
9. Working To the Top (My Ambition), Pt. 1
10. But I Do (With Bob Andy)
11. Sugar Wooga Man
12. There’s No Me Without You
13. Don’t Ever Leave
14. You Are Mine (With Bob Andy)